Archive for the 'Data Leaks' Category


Merci NC ministère du Revenu…

Samedi, 27 janvier, 2007

J'ai entendu sur les nouvelles locales la nuit dernière que la Caroline du Nord du ministère du Revenu a perdu un ordinateur portable qui avait ~ 30000 Etat contribuables des renseignements sur elle. Numéros / etc de la sécurité sociale… Le rapport que j'ai vu que l'état a mis en place une permanence téléphonique pour “apprendre aux citoyens au sujet du vol d'identité” et ont envoyé des lettres aux personnes touchées. Merci… [...]

Chase lance de données sur 2.6 million de clients dans les décharges

Lundi, 11 septembre, 2006

Chase Card Services tort jeté les bandes de sauvegarde qui contenaient les informations de carte de l'ordre de 2.6 million de clients (selon les détenteurs de cartes de l'article Circuit City (anciens et actuels.)) 5 bandes de données ont été saccagés par erreur en Juillet. Heureusement, ils pensent que les bandes ont été détruits à la décharge, et sont 1)notification à l'affect, 2)collabore avec les autorités. [...]

Les données des moyens est volé..

Mardi, 5 septembre, 2006

Brian Krebs souligne une étude sur le vol de données / infractions. Il ya quelques résultats intéressants (just 1/3 de données infractions étaient contre le piratage criminelle, 29% des ordinateurs portables volés ou supports de stockage, 23% de la divulgation inappropriée de renseignements (oops, j'ai publié tous les renseignements à nos clients sur le site.) et 7% à justeir de sources à l'intérieur – employés qui prennent / vente de données, just [...]

AT&T a des infos sur 19,000 volé

Mercredi, 30 août, 2006

AT&T has had a breach of data that revealed information on as many as 19,000 les personnes qui avaient utilisé leur boutique en ligne. Il semble que les données de carte de crédit est ce qui a été volé, ça s'est passé le week-end et AT&T dit qu'ils ont détecté la violation “en quelques heures”.    Envoyer cet article au format PDF   

Nouvelle section fuites de données

Lundi, 28 août, 2006

J'ai ajouté une autre catégorie pour “les fuites de données”. C'est là que je mettrai nouvelles à l'instar de la société X fuite des données sur les clients yyyyy. Il est regrettable que c'est quelque chose qui se passe probablement par jour. Il n'ya aucun moyen que je peux suivre avec tout, mais je vais essayer de poster les plus grands événements [...]

Verizon envoie par courriel un tableur client par erreur….

Lundi, 28 août, 2006

Verizon Wireless accidentally attached the wrong file to an email and wound up broadcasting an Excel spreadsheet with the details of some 5210 customers to about 1800 personnes. Apparemment, they were sending out a promotional email to some of their customers and instead of the electronic order form they intended to send. The promotional email [...]

Google
 
Toile www.averyjparker.com

Passez à notre site mobile

Archive for the 'Data Leaks' Category


Thank you NC department of revenue…

Saturday, January 27th, 2007

I heard on the local news last night that the North Carolina Department of Revenue has lost a laptop that had ~30,000 state taxpayers information on it. Social Security numbers/etc… The report I saw that the state has setup a hotline to “teach citizens about identity theft” and have sent letters to those affected. Thanks… [...]

Chase throws data on 2.6 million customers in landfill

Monday, September 11th, 2006

Chase Card services mistakenly threw out backup tapes that contained the card information of around 2.6 million customers (according to the article Circuit City card holders (former and current.)) 5 data tapes were mistakenly trashed in July. Fortunately, they think the tapes were destroyed at the landfill, and are 1)notifying the affect, 2)working with authorities. [...]

The ways data is stolen..

Tuesday, September 5th, 2006

Brian Krebs highlights a study on data theft/breaches. There are some interesting results (just 1/3 of data breaches were from criminal hacking, 29% from stolen laptops or storage media, 23% from improper disclosure of information (oops I published all our customers information on the website.) and 7% from inside sources – employees taking/selling data, just [...]

AT&T has info on 19,000 stolen

Wednesday, August 30th, 2006

AT&T has had a breach of data that revealed information on as many as 19,000 individuals that had used their online store. It appears that credit card data is what was stolen, it happened over the weekend and AT&T says they detected the breach “within hours”.    Send article as PDF   

New Data Leaks section

Monday, August 28th, 2006

I’ve added yet another category for “data leaks”. This is where I’ll put news along the lines of X company leaked data on yyyyy customers. It’s unfortunate that this is something that likely happens daily. There is no way that I can keep up with EVERYTHING, but I’ll try to post the bigger events in [...]

Verizon emails a customer spreadsheet by mistake….

Monday, August 28th, 2006

Verizon Wireless accidentally attached the wrong file to an email and wound up broadcasting an Excel spreadsheet with the details of some 5210 customers to about 1800 people. Apparently, they were sending out a promotional email to some of their customers and instead of the electronic order form they intended to send. The promotional email [...]

Google
 
Web www.averyjparker.com

Switch to our mobile site