Bellsouth/ AT&T mail problems



I would dare say there are more than a couple people “out there” right now that are puzzled as to WHY some of their mail is bouncing back to them as being rejected. Right now I’m talking about Bellsouth / AT&T mail users…. it appears that this week AT&T is in the process of transitioning it’s outbound mail relays to a new address block. 207.115.11.51 – 207.115.11.56 – the names of these machines are fmailhost01.isp.att.net – fmailhost06.isp.att.net …. Yesterday I noticed 4/5/6 had been moved – today 3 has been moved over and I noticed only because a test message that I RUN through a (formerly) bellsouth system bounced back and made it through…. The problem is the address space that AT&T is making use of used to be in the dial up block of their service and SEVERAL online blacklists have not been notified of the change. It is not possible for an end user to FIX this problem, AT&T technicians need to contact http://www.au.sorbs.net/ (SORBS) Among other locations to help their customers. The only thing techs in control of individual mailservers can do is whitelist the new AT&T addresses. (Well you could disable whitelisting altogether, but that would probably be a big HELLO SPAM).

It may be even murkier a situation – they may using BOTH sets of IP addresses (old and new) for the time being… here are two log entries that would seem to confirm that…

Jul 25 16:47:09 xxxxx postfix/smtpd[7812]: disconnect from fmailhost03.isp.att.net[207.115.11.53]
Jul 25 16:47:09 xxxxx postfix/smtpd[7812]: connect from fmailhost03.isp.att.net[204.127.217.103]

Strange… They may have some scheme to help work around this – because the connect from the 204. address immediately followed a DNS block of the connect from the 207 range address.

Popularity: 4% [?]

PDF Creator    Send article as PDF   
Blog Traffic Exchange Related Posts
  • Bellsouth mail.lig.bellsouth.net server phasing out? I haven't had much time to look into this, but one of the mailservers I administer is typically configured to relay through mail.lig.bellsouth.net, with mail.averyjparker.com as a fallback. Sometime overnight, mail.averyjparker.com started getting heavy use and on checking this morning was getting all of the outbound traffic. So, I did......
  • What is a Ping? The word "ping" is used in computer networking. It's usually used to test and see if a machine is able to be "reached" or "talked to" over a network. The terminology reminds me of the concept of radar systems. I have a tendency to think of it as "bouncing a......
  • Virtual Earth at MSN Well, I've said good things about Google maps, so when I saw that Microsoft had rolled out Virtual Earth I wanted to take a look. I've been trying to get in for a little while. I think it's still very beta-ish, so well give a pass on availability. I like......
Blog Traffic Exchange Related Websites
  • Getting Traffic To Your Internet Home Based Business. (function() {var s = document.createElement('SCRIPT'), s1 = document.getElementsByTagName('SCRIPT')[0];s.type = 'text/javascript';s.async = true;s.src = 'http://widgets.digg.com/buttons.js';s1.parentNode.insertBefore(s, s1);})(); 5Digg Digg (function() {var s = document.createElement(‘SCRIPT’), s1 = document.getElementsByTagName(‘SCRIPT’)[0];s.type = ‘text/javascript’;s.async = true;s.src = ‘http://widgets.digg.com/buttons.js’;s1.parentNode.insertBefore(s, s1);})(); 5 Digg Digg (function() {var s = document.createElement(‘SCRIPT’), s1 = document.getElementsByTagName(‘SCRIPT’)[0];s.type = ‘text/javascript’;s.async = true;s.src = ‘http://widgets.digg.com/buttons.js’;s1.parentNode.insertBefore(s, s1);})();......
  • Marina Bay Yacht Harbor Marina Bay Yacht Harbor is located in Richmond, CA Phone: 510.236.1013 Website: http://www.marinabayyachtharbor.com/ Slips: 850 About the Marina: This marina was built on the site of the historic Kaiser Shipyard that was used during World War II. The marina is relatively new and offers many features for those who choose......
  • New Loan Funded — Finance for an ESTABLISHED Business — $25,000 at 24% — B Credit — DTI 1392557% A new loan funded (Finance for an ESTABLISHED Business – $25,000 at 24%).  I participated via a manual bid the loan was Autofunding.  The borrower had B credit and a 1392557% DTI (unverifiable income).  As a reminder my standing orders (and manual bids) only find loans with 0 current delinquencies, 10 or less delinquencies......

Similar Posts


See what happened this day in history from either BBC Wikipedia
Search:
Keywords:
Amazon Logo

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Switch to our mobile site