Maybe it’s time for a cleanup here

4. April, 2017

Hmmmm. I haven’t posted here in ages. Lots going on. At one point I used this as a journal for Tech Zeug. Somewhere along the way I got sidetracked into a lot of other things. I’m wondering though if it’s Zeit to restart…. lots of linux administration and Tech stuff to write about. Watch this space there may be new material coming soon.

www.pdf24.org    Artikel versenden als PDF   

Diversified Tech Solutions

5. Mai, 2016

Sind, in the last year I’ve organized an LLC and my Computer repair and unterstützen service as well as other technology services are now known as Diversified Tech Solutions. Among other things we are a Naples SEO Company and offer services to other areas as well through our Remote Tech Support Services We also continue to offer Linux Server Administration

en.pdf24.org    Artikel versenden als PDF   

Webseite Sprecher

13. November, 2011

Haben Sie schon einmal besucht eine Website und hatte jemand im Gespräch mit Ihnen. Nein, nicht über die Schulter, von der Seite selbst?Ich habe und ich bin immer noch nicht entschieden, ob es eine gute Sache ist oder nicht. Ich kann auf jeden Fall sehen sie dem Ausschalten einige Leute, aber es ist glatt und kann einen positiven ersten Eindruck geben, wenn sie gut gemacht.

Diese Website Sprecher Videos sind ziemlich einfach und billig zu tun. Billiger als ich erwartet hätte und ich habe gerade über ein Unternehmen, das dies tut laufen.

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Panda und Vince – Googles neuesten Updates

12. November, 2011

Und… es gab auch einen Koffein-Update. Nun, Mitte Oktober gab es ein Update für Panda – irgendwo in gab es ein Update und dann Vince Koffein sah ein Update Anfang November. Haben Sie bemerkt eine Veränderung in den Suchergebnissen?Haben Sie das Gefühl, wie sie besser oder schlechter sind?

Panda Gao Gao in San Diego Zoo, USA

Image via Wikipedia

Ich habe mehrere Websites, die haben musste “schwankte” durch diese Aktuelles, einige besser, manche schlechter. Ein oder zwei waren dramatisch verschärft.

Ich scheine nicht allein sein zu sehen, einen gewissen Einfluss und hier ist eine Zusammenfassung dessen, was das Problem ist und was Sie dagegen tun können.

Panda ist über die Senkung der Bedeutung von Websites, die in dünnen Inhalten waren. Es war leicht zu rangieren Websites ohne viel Inhalt für einige Zeit.So wirft ein paar zurück Links (in vielen Fällen auch auf dünnem Inhalt) und man konnte ganz gut tun.

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Asheville basierte Web Design, VPS Hosting und SEO Services

2. November, 2011

front view of the cluster of Wikimedia servers...

Image via Wikipedia

Der Wandel ist konstant. Die letzten paar Jahren habe ich weniger zu tun vor Ort Computer Service. Gesundheit ist ein großer Grund für die. Ich habe auf andere Dinge konzentriert obwohl. Eines der Dinge, die ich gearbeitet haben, geht jetzt Live. Ich habe meine Web-Hosting-Dienste neu gestaltet. an einer Stelle dieser Seite war der wichtigste Standort für die, nicht mehr. Ich habe jetzt eine neue Seite einrichten für meine Asheville Web Design, Asheville VPS Hosting und Asheville SEO Services. Viele dieser Dinge habe ich im Stillen tun, für die letzte 15 Jahre oder so, aber jetzt habe ich einige Angebote formalisiert. Dies ist nicht zu sagen, dass ich gehe nicht um SEO Arbeit zu tun oder Hosting für jene außerhalb Asheville, NC. Jedoch, das ist, wo ich bin der Basis.

Die meisten von meinen Computer damit verbundenen Arbeiten in den letzten Jahren wurde im Zusammenhang Server, VPS-Umgebung Setup, Wartung und Konfiguration. 99% der, die in der Linux / Unix-Umgebung, die typischerweise für Web-Hosting wird bevorzugt worden. Weiter, Ich habe eine große Tiefe der Erfahrung mit WordPress, Drupal und Joomla. (Besonders Version von WordPress.)

Die Website-Adresse ist AAAVPSSolutions.com

PDF24    Artikel versenden als PDF   

Kriminellen Hintergrund prüfen

25. Oktober, 2011

Wenn Sie die Einstellung jemand für die meisten Positionen einer kriminellen Hintergrund prüfen ist eine hohe Priorität. Vor allem, wenn die Person, die Sie mieten wird mit Ihrer Familie oder mit Kindern interagieren. Das Internet hat kriminellen Hintergrund Kontrollen alltäglich und leicht zu führen. Es gibt viele Dienste, die diese eine einfache und schnelle Prozess machen. Eine solche, die ich gefunden habe, ist inteligator.

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Westernsky.com Betrug – Hüten Sie Shocking Zinsen

26. September, 2011

high credit interest rates get some people into trouble

Image via Wikipedia

Absolut erschreckend hoch Zinsen…. Wow. Das letzte Jahr oder so habe ich eine Menge westernsky.com Anzeigen gesehen. Sie sind eine LLC, die indianische Besitz-und Betriebskosten in der souveränen Nation der Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation ist. (Innerhalb der Grenzen der USA, aber Bundeskompetenz ist auf iffy Boden gibt.)

Jetzt, sie sagen, sie sind Kredite sind teuer, aber sie sind Werbung für ihre Kredite als erschwinglicher als viele Zahltag Darlehen, und ich warf einen Blick auf ihre Website. Lesen Sie weiter, um zu sehen, warum ich es nennen das westernsky.com Betrug

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Möchten Sie Fremdsprachewortschatz merken? memrise.com

15. Juli, 2011

The Chinese characters for "Hong Kong".

Image via Wikipedia

Ich habe absolut süchtig. Vor einer Woche Donnerstag entdeckte ich eine neue Website. Es war ein Artikel über die makezine Blog spricht über die Vorteile des Lernens mandarin für das, was sie tun. Ich war schon immer fasziniert gewesen von Mandarine – Ich erinnere mich an das Lernen ein bisschen Kantonesisch in Hongkong und haben eine kurze Buch über chinesische Symbole. Ich muss eine lebenslange Faszination für zugeben Sprachen (gibt es die neue Sprachen lernen Standort, meine wie man lernt Spanisch für Anfänger Seite und meine onlineradiotv.com Seite, auf die jeweils Höhepunkte der mein Interesse an Sprachen und der großen Belastung durch andere Sprachen, dass das Internet bringen kann. Ohnehin…. Ich habe eine Flash-Card-Programm für eine lange Zeit verwendet werden, um die Vokabeln (Mnemosyne) – Ich habe rund 10,000 Spanisch-Karten jetzt – ein Haufen von Französisch (200) und Italienisch (400) und Deutsch (6000+) Karten sowie. Ich habe das Buch geknackt ein bisschen auf Chinesisch, aber nicht viel. Sind, eine der Ressourcen-Websites, die sie erwähnt, war memrise.com

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Drupal 7 und E-Commerce

4. Juli, 2011

Drupal 7 geworden ist das Flaggschiff-Version der Content Management Plattform. Letztes Jahr war ich die Einrichtung einer Reihe von Webstores mit Drupal 6 und E-Commerce-Module (addons) für sie zusammenfassend als Ubercart. Ubercart war etwas komplex, aber alles funktioniert. Für die Ecken und Kanten gab es noch andere Module, um die Kanten zu glätten.

Vor kurzem habe ich mit einer Installation von Drupal gearbeitet 7 und den Aufbau eines E-Commerce-Website. Ubercart ist in einem Zustand Tests verfügbar für Drupal 7, aber viele der Entwickler haben sich für ein Modul namens Commerce links. Welches auch in einer Prüfungs-Zustand. Was folgt ist eine kurze Zusammenfassung meiner Irrungen und Wirrungen in den Aufbau eines E-Commerce-Website mit Drupal 7.

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »

Park Your Virus Undurchlässige Selbstgefälligkeit Mac (und Linux) Benutzer

21. Juni, 2011

Screenshot of ClamTk 3.08 running on Ubuntu 8....

Image via Wikipedia

Ich benutze Linux. Ich bevorzuge es über Windows- aus vielen Gründen. Es ist resistenter gegen Viren, leichtes Ziel, aber das bedeutet nicht, dass Malware oder andere Viren sind unmöglich. Wenn jemand zu mir ins Rennen etwas austricksen und noch schlimmer, Trick Me in mit meinem Administrator-Kennwort zu installieren etwas systemweit, es könnte das gleiche Endergebnis wie eine Windows-Malware-Infektion sein. Um fair zu sein Microsoft hat sich verbessert ihre Sicherheit im Laufe der Jahre. Sie sind immer noch die wahrscheinlichste Plattform obwohl eine Fahrt mit dem Virus bekommen nur durch den Besuch einer Website (ohne Benutzereingriff.) Das ist viel gesagt, Mac-Anwender und Linux Benutzer sollten vermeiden, dass selbstgefällige. Warum? Sie sind nicht völlig sicher. Niemand ist. Social Engineering ist die häufigste (und effektivste) Pfad zu bekommen Malware auf einem Computer.

Lesen Sie den Rest dieses Eintrags »



Wechseln Sie auf unsere Website für Handys

Website Spokesperson

November 13th, 2011

Have you ever visited a website and had someone start talking to you.  No not over your shoulder, from the page itself?  I have and I’m still not decided on whether it’s a good thing or not.  I can definitely see it turning off some people, but it’s slick and can give a positive first impression if done well.

These website spokesperson videos are pretty easy and cheap to do.  Cheaper than I would have expected and I’ve just run across one company that does this.

Read the rest of this entry »

Panda and Vince – Googles latest updates

November 12th, 2011

And… there was also a caffeine update.  Well, mid October there was an update to Panda – somewhere in there was a Vince update and then caffeine saw an update in early November.  Did you notice a change in the search results?  Do you feel like they’re better or worse?

Panda Gao Gao in San Diego Zoo, USA

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve had several sites that have “fluctuated” through these updates, some better, some worse.  One or two were dramatically worse.

I don’t seem to be alone in seeing some impact and here’s a summary of what the issue is and what to do about it.

Panda is about lowering the importance of sites that are thin in content.  It has been easy to rank sites without much content for some time.  Just throwing a few back links (in many cases also thin on content) and you could do quite well.

Read the rest of this entry »

Asheville based Web Design, VPS Hosting and SEO Services

November 2nd, 2011

front view of the cluster of Wikimedia servers...

Image via Wikipedia

Change is constant. The last couple of years I have been doing less onsite computer service. Health has been one large reason for that. I have been focusing on other things though. One of the things that I’ve been working on is now going live. I’ve redesigned my web hosting services. at one point this page was the main site for that, no longer. I have now setup a new page for my Asheville Web Design, Asheville VPS Hosting and Asheville SEO Services. Many of these things I’ve been doing quietly for the last 15 years or so, but now I’ve formalized certain offerings. This is not to say that I am not going to do SEO work or hosting for those outside Asheville, NC. However, that is where I’m based.

Most of my computer related work the last few years has been server related, vps environment setup, maintenance and configuration. 99% of that has been in the linux/unix environment which is typically preferred for web hosting. Further, I have a great depth of experience with wordpress, drupal and joomla. (Especially wordpress.)

The site address is AAAVPSSolutions.com

PDF Creator    Send article as PDF   

Criminal Background Check

October 25th, 2011

When you are hiring someone for most positions a criminal background check is a high priority. Especially if the person you are hiring will interact with your family or with children. The internet has made criminal background checks commonplace and easy to conduct. There are many services that make this an easy and quick process. One such that I have found is inteligator.

Read the rest of this entry »

Westernsky.com scam – Beware Shocking Interest Rates

September 26th, 2011

high credit interest rates get some people into trouble

Image via Wikipedia

Absolutely shockingly high interest rates…. Wow. The last year or so I’ve seen a lot of westernsky.com ads. They are an LLC that is native-american owned and operating in the sovereign nation of the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation. (Within the borders of the US, but federal jurisdiction is on iffy ground there.)

Now, they do say they’re loans are expensive, but they are advertising their loans as being more affordable than many payday loans and I took a look at their site. Read on to see why I call it the westernsky.com scam

Read the rest of this entry »

Want to memorize foreign language vocabulary? memrise.com

July 15th, 2011

The Chinese characters for "Hong Kong".

Image via Wikipedia

I have been absolutely addicted. A week ago Thursday I discovered a new site. It was an article over at the makezine blog talking about the benefits of learning mandarin for what they do. I’ve always been intrigued by mandarin – I remember learning a bit of cantonese in Hong Kong and have a short book on chinese symbols. I must admit a lifelong fascination with languages (there’s the study new languages site, my how to learn spanish for beginners site and my onlineradiotv.com site which each have highlights of my interest in languages and the great exposure to other languages that the internet can bring. Anyway…. I’ve used a flash card program for a long time to work on vocabulary (mnemosyne) – I have around 10,000 spanish cards right now – a bunch of french (200) and italian (400) and german (6000+) cards as well. I’ve cracked the book a bit on chinese, but not much. So, one of the resource sites they mentioned was memrise.com

Read the rest of this entry »

Drupal 7 and E-Commerce

July 4th, 2011

Drupal 7 has become the flagship version of the content management platform. Last year I was setting up a couple of webstores with Drupal 6 and e-commerce modules (addons) for it collectively called ubercart. Ubercart was somewhat complex but things worked. For the rough edges there were other modules to smooth the edges.

Recently I’ve been working with an install of Drupal 7 and building an e-commerce site. Ubercart is available in a testing state for Drupal 7, but many of the developers have left in favor of a module called Commerce. Which also is in a testing state. What follows is a BRIEF summary of my trials and tribulations in building an ecommerce site with Drupal 7.

Read the rest of this entry »

Park Your Virus Impervious Smugness Mac (and Linux) Users

June 21st, 2011

Screenshot of ClamTk 3.08 running on Ubuntu 8....

Image via Wikipedia

I use linux. I prefer it over Windows for many reasons. It’s more resistant to viruses, less of a target, but that doesn’t mean that malware or other viruses are impossible. If someone were to trick me into running something and even worse, trick me into using my administrator password to install something system wide, it could be the same end result as a windows malware infection. To be fair Microsoft has improved their security over the years. They are still the most likely platform though to get a drive by virus just by visiting a site (with no user interaction.) That much said, Mac users and Linux users should avoid being smug. Why? They aren’t completely safe. No one is. Social engineering is the most common (and most effective) path to getting malware on a computer.

Read the rest of this entry »

Laptop Woes, Customer Service Headaches and a New Laptop

June 21st, 2011

It seems that things happen in clusters, sometimes it’s more of a chain reaction. My longtime working laptop lost the ability to backlight the display. Yes, the backlight is replacable with a couple hours tear down and rebuild. Of course, they’re fragile parts and although I’ve replaced them in the past. I’ve got to a point that I didn’t feel it was worth it. The laptop was a ~1Ghz single core PIII or PIV with 2GB of memory. It has had flakey wireless lately, sometimes the machine will wake up and the wireless isn’t working. It’s clone had died with a power switch issue that could have only been solved with a motherboard replacement. So, I switched to an older spare while I ordered a replacement from Dell.

Read the rest of this entry »

Kindle With Special Offers Debuts at $114

April 12th, 2011

So, today there is an advertising supported kindle that sells for $25 less than its cheapest cousin which is the kindle wifi. What will it look like? The screensavers are one place that ads will show up. Also at the bottom of the home page. (It appears that you won’t have ads in the middle of your book.) I’m wondering if a $25 discount is enough to encourage someone to go for this version over the wifi?

It’s hard for me to say since I went ahead and sprung for the 3g version at $189. From their descriptions the advertising support seems relatively unobtrusive. (Much less so than google ads…. I could see them setting aside a part of EACH page of a text to put ads which would be annoying.)

So what do you think – will the $25 discount make for more sales?

Is any kind of advertising too much on this kind of device?

Create PDF    Send article as PDF   


Switch to our mobile site